Tuesday, March 24, 2009

It's Not Me It's You Release

Prior to the album's release, Allen posted a number of demos on her MySpace page. The first two to appear were "I Could Say" and "I Don't Know" on March 20 2008, the latter of which was retitled and released as the album's lead single, "The Fear". Based on the first two demos, Digital Spy described her new artistic direction as more mature, more reflective and more electronic.

A third, politically charged clip was later posted, with the titles "Guess Who Batman" and later "Get With the Brogram", finally appearing as "GWB". Despite both working titles sharing initials with George W. Bush, Allen wrote that "this song is not a direct attack at anyone, it was originally written about the BNP in the UK but then I felt this issue has become relevant pretty much everywhere, we are the youth, we can make coolness for our future, its up to us. Go green and hate hate". The song was retitled "Fuck You" for the album version.

Allen posted a fourth song on her MySpace page, called "Who'd of Known", noting that the song had been recorded for the album but would not be included due to legal issues since the chorus is musically similar to the Take That song "Shine". However, Take That later did allow Allen to include the song on the album (now titled grammatically correctly as "Who'd Have Known").

On the 2nd February, Lily posted all 12 tracks from her album to listen to on her MySpace profile page.

No comments:

Post a Comment